8 Novel Structure

The Four Stories Structures That Dominate Novels

Character story

“The story begins at the moment when the main character becomes so unhappy, impatient or angry in her present role that she begins the process of change; it ends when the character either settles into a new role (happily or not) or gives up the struggle and remains in the old role (happily or not).”

  • What’s in a Name
  • Whaleseasons

Event story

“In the event story, something is wrong in the fabric of the universe; the world is out of order.”

  • The Perfumed Shroud


Electronic Press Kit for Garie McIntosh’s Novel “What’s in a Name” Copyright © 2022 by Garie McIntosh. All Rights Reserved.

Share This Book