Acknowledgements and Project Background

2021 FLEX Forward Chapter Addition: Accessibility in Online and Technology-Enhanced Learning

McMaster’s FLEX Forward: Accessible Education Course has undergone the the exciting addition of a new chapter that was developed over the 2020-2021 academic year in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the University’s subsequent shift to remote work and teaching and learning environments.

This chapter is entitled Module 7: Accessibility in Online and Technology-Enhanced Learning and can be found at the end of the current FLEX Forward course / Pressbook. This chapter was co-authored by Dr. Alise de Bie, Kate Brown, Devon Mordell, and Celeste Suart.

2020 FLEX Forward E-Book Review and Revision

This resource was first launched in May 2017, and has most recently been updated in May 2020 by Dr. Alise de Bie & Kate Brown. 

Special thanks to Omar Hamdan and Victoria Kren for technical assistance.

For further information on the creation of this e-book training, please visit Appendix J: FLEX Forward Project Background.

2015-2017 Accessibility in Teaching and Learning Team

Instructional Design, Project Coordination, and Authorship

Alise de Bie & Kate Brown


Raihanna Hirji-Khalfan, Accessibility Specialist, Equity and Inclusion Office
Anne Pottier, Chair, McMaster Accessibility Council
Zafar Syed, MacPherson Institute
Dr. Marie Vander Kloet

Research and Writing Support and Consultation

Elliot Storm, PhD
Rita Ieshu
Mark Anthony Castrodale, PhD
Devon Mordell
Celeste Suart


Maddie Brown
Nusrat Mir

Graphic Design & Layout

Amy McIntosh, MacPherson Institute
Nusrat Mir

Film Recording and Production

Rita Ieshu, Student Scholar
Ali Babar, Student Scholar
Amy McIntosh, MacPherson Institute

We especially wish to acknowledge and thank the many students, staff, and faculty who informed and contributed to the design of this resource, especially consultants from the MacPherson Institute, the faculty who participated in focus groups and filmed interviews over 2015-2016, presentation attendees who offered feedback at McMaster’s 2016 Learning Technology Symposium, and the members of the Accessible Teaching and Learning Advisory Committee (ATLAC).

Thanks also to the Student Partners who participated on the Accessibility in Teaching and Learning Project between 2015-2016: Ali Babar, Karim Harji, Rita Ieshu, Shaila Kumbhare, and Vagisha Pruthi

Special thanks to our interviewees:

Dr. Patrick Deane, President and Vice-Chancellor
Dr. Catherine Anderson, Department of Linguistics and Languages
Dr. Sue Baptiste, School of Rehabilitation Science
Dr. Philippa Carter, Department of Religious Studies
Dr. Robert Fleisig, Walter G. Booth School of Engineering Practice and Technology
Dr. Ann Fudge Schormans, School of Social Work
Dr. Ameil Joseph, School of Social Work; Chair, President’s Advisory Committee on Building an Inclusive Community (PACBIC)
Dr. Beth Marquis, Arts & Science Program & School of the Arts
Dr. Vanessa Watts-Powless, Indigenous Studies Program
Shaila Kumbhare, School of Social Work

Funded by the McMaster Accessibility Council and the Paul R. MacPherson Institute for Leadership, Innovation and Excellence in Teaching, with support from the Equity and Inclusion Office.

McMaster University Logo

MacPherson Institute logo


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License

Forward with FLEXibility Copyright © 2017 by McMaster University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book